# The NAACP Salt Lake Branch cordially invites you to attend the 38<sup>th</sup> Annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Memorial Luncheon

Monday, January 17, 2022 Reception: 11:00 a.m. – 11:45 Luncheon: 12:00 noon Little America Hotel Ballroom 500 South Main Salt Lake City, Utah

#### Speaker:

Reginald M. Turner, Jr.
President, American Bar Association
(Virtual)

### Awards to be presented:

#### The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Award will be presented to S. Floyd Mori.

Floyd Mori is one of the country's leading advocates for the advancement of the Japanese American, Asian American and Pacific Islander communities along with other minorities. In 2012, Mori received the Order of the Rising Sun, Gold Rays with Rosette Award from the Government of Japan in recognition of his contributions to the "improvement of the status of Japanese Americans, strengthening of economic relations between Japan and the United States, and the promotion of Japanese culture in the United States.

### The Rosa Parks Award will be presented to Jenny Wilson.

Jenny Wilson is Mayor of Salt Lake County, having previously served as a County Council Member for ten years. As Mayor, she serves more than a million constituents.

## First Responders Awards will be presented for outstanding community service.

#### **NAACP Scholarship Donors:**

NAACP Scholarships: CR England, Gordon & Connie Hanks, Hires Big H, Larry H. Miller Charities & Group of Companies, Nu Skin Enterprises, Shawn and Tory Newell Family Scholarship, Smith's Food and Drug, will be presented to Utah High School and College Students

## **Reservations:**

Make reservations by calling (801) 250-5088, email jdwnaacp@att.net or pay online: www.naacp-saltlakebranch.org
Payments can be mailed to:
NAACP Salt Lake Branch
P.O. Box 25414
Salt Lake City, UT 84125-0414

Cost:

\$125.00 Individual Ticket \$1,000.00 Table of Eight \$50.00 for Youth Under 12 RSVP by January 12 Tel: (801) 250-5088, Fax: (801) 250-5111

Or email: jdwnaacp@att.net

Contributions or gifts to NAACP Branches are not tax deductible as charitable donations.