A Civil Rights
Organization for US Citizens
CALL: (877) 637-1958
Salt Lake City, UT 84125-0414

NAACP Salt Lake Branch

Dr. King 2020 Invitation Flyer

Type of reservation

When making a payment, click on "friends and family." Do Not Use "goods and services."
MLK Rosa Parks

The NAACP Salt Lake Branch 36th Annual
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., Memorial Luncheon

Elder Gary E. Stevenson

Elder Gary E. Stevenson
Quorum of the Twelve Apostles

Elder Gary E. Stevenson was called to serve as a member of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles on October 3, 2015, by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. At the time of his call to the Twelve, he served as the Presiding Bishop of the Church since April 2012.

In April 2008, he was called to the First Quorum of the Seventy and served as a counselor and later as president in the Asia North Area Presidency. His previous Church service includes full-time missionary in the Japan Fukuoka Mission, ward Sunday School teacher, high councilor, bishop, stake presidency counselor, and president of the Japan Nagoya Mission (2004-2007).

He received a Bachelor of Science degree in business administration from Utah State University. He co-founded an exercise equipment manufacturing company, ICON Health & Fitness, Inc., where he served as president and chief operating officer until 2008. He was also involved in numerous civic activities and has served on various boards and advisory councils.

The Huntsman Foundation

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Award Recipient
The Huntsman Foundation

The Huntsman Foundation was established in 1988 by the late Jon M. Huntsman and his wife, Karen. The Foundation’s principal emphasis is to provide relief to the sick, the poor, the distressed and the underprivileged, as well as promoting education and providing tools for individuals to prosper and be successful citizens.

Sherrif Rosie Rivera

The Rosa Parks Award Recipient

Rosie Rivera

Sheriff Rivera started her career in 1993. She has always been very passionate about public safety and community interaction. She has worked her way up through the ranks of Deputy, Sergeant, Lieutenant, Deputy Chief, and Sheriff. She has been in leadership positions for the past 17 years. Rosie has supervised and managed a variety of divisions in law enforcement to include the following: gangs, homicide, sex crimes, crimes against children, property crimes, identity theft, fraud, domestic violence, patrol, forensics, evidence, watch command, department spokesperson and media services. Rosie has worked for Weber State Police Department, Salt Lake County Sheriff's Office, Taylorsville Police Department, and served as the first female Deputy Chief for Unified Police Department. She is the first female Sheriff in the state of Utah.

Surae Chinn

Surae Chinn
Mistress of Ceremonies

Surae Chinn is the co-anchor ABC4Utah News at 4:00 PM with Glenn Mills. Prior to joining the Good4Utah news team, Surae was a reporter and fill-in anchor in Washington, D.C.

Surae is an award-winning journalist. She served as the weekend evening anchor at WSET-TV in Lynchburg, Virginia, where she received an Edward R. Murrow award for her coverage and 30-minute special on Guantanamo Bay, Cuba. She also received an Associated Press award for best documentary.

Surae met her husband, Devon Lucie, at KCTV5, a station where they both worked in Kansas City, Missouri. She was the morning weekend anchor, and Devon was the weekend morning and evening meteorologist. They later made the move East and worked at television stations in Washington, D.C. This summer, Surae left her hometown in Northern Virginia to join husband Devon at ABC4Utah, where he now serves as Meteorologist for Good Morning Utah and ABC4Utah News Mid-day.

Jeffrey Thomas

Jeffrey Thomas
Chairman of the First Responders Awards

Jeff Thomas has served on several boards throughout the community and Nationally. He has served as an Executive Board member of the Black Fire Chiefs Officers Committee, (current) Executive Board member of the Salt Lake City Exchange Club, (past) Pastor France A Davis Scholarship Board.

Jeff is the most senior Salt Lake City Fire department Chief officer and the first Black Fire Officer in the state of Utah. Jeff is an avid outdoorsman and enjoys fishing, boating, sightseeing, and Southern Utah. As a firefighter, Jeff has dedicated his life and career to creating an inclusive, diverse fire department both locally and Nationally. He has three children that have exceeded his expectations daily and a great deal of friends within the state of Utah and Nationally in Public Safety.

First Responders Awards Will Be Presented During The Luncheon.
This award is to recognize and honor First Responders in the work that they do to protect and serve our communities daily.

NAACP Scholarship Donors
NAACP Scholarships: CR England, Gordon and Connie Hanks Scholarships, Hires Big H, Shawn and Tory Newell Family Scholarship, Smith's Food and Drug Scholarships, and Utah Jazz Scholarships will be presented to Utah High School and College Students.

Make reservations by calling (801) 250-5088, email jdwnaacp@att.net, or pay online: www.naacp-saltlakebranch.org
Payments can be mailed to:
NAACP Salt Lake Branch
P.O. Box 25414
Salt Lake City, UT 84125-0414

$100.00 Individual Ticket
$1,000.00 Table of Ten
$50.00 for Youth Under the Age of 12
RSVP by January 14
Tel: (801) 250-5088, Fax: (801) 250-5111
Or email: jdwnaacp@att.net

Contributions or gifts to NAACP Branches are not tax-deductible as charitable donations.